Dreaming in dreams

by Brian Keaney

I occasionally get email that is actually intended for a Brian Keaney in Toronto.  In London there is a Brian Keaney who has ensured that I’ll never be known as Brian Keaney the writer, as if that was likely to happen anyway.  The latter has commented in this space before, and he has a blog of his own, Dreaming in Text.

Last night I had several dreams.  This normally wouldn’t be of interest to anyone, including myself, except that its the first time since Monday night it’s happened.  I finally got a decent night’s sleep.  All told it was probably about six or seven hours, but it came in three or four hour chunks, which was great.  All week long I’ve been getting about three hours, and they would come in naps of 30 or 40 minutes at a time between 10pm and 8am.

Strangely, I really haven’t felt tired at all, but when I woke up for the final time this morning I felt great (and not just because I still get as excited for Christmas Eve as a little kid does).  I also haven’t eaten much all week.  Cumulatively it probably adds up to a couple pieces of fruit, three bites of a peanut butter and jelly, one complete bowl of soup, a piece of coffee cake, and a slice of pizza.

Incidentally, if you can handle the side effects, I recommend the flu as a weight loss program.  Nothing has ever curbed my appetite like this before, and I’ve already lost a couple of pounds.  Perhaps not the healthiest way ever, but certainly effective.

And, apropos of absolutely nothing, I just heard a very loud “Merry Christmas! Ho, ho, ho!” come from the post office parking lot across the street.  I admire his spirit, but someone should tell Santa that he is a couple hours early.

Enhanced by Zemanta
