I’m dreaming of a complete blog post

by Brian Keaney

When I said the other day that I usually have a first draft of blog posts completely written out in my head before I ever sit down at the computer, I wasn’t kidding.  Sometimes, in fact, I have them written out before I even get out of bed.

I usually only get five or six hours of sleep a night.  Once I’m up I’m good to go for the day – no coffee needed – but it does usually take hitting the snooze button two or three times before I’ll actually get out of bed.  I don’t know what I was dreaming about, but this morning when I hit the snooze for the first time I started writing something before I fell back asleep again.  All I remember, and indeed all I probably had, was this:

There is much you can say about my mother, and calling her a saint for putting up with me for all these years is probably a good place to start.  At scarcely five feet tall, however, intimidating is not an adjective most would use.

I have no idea where I was going with this, but I think it had something to do with the alarm clock itself.  I’ve been trying to remember all day, and I just can’t.  I think it might have been explanatory, though I have no idea what I would have been trying to explain.  When I learn a new or difficult concept for the first time, I’ll often try an teach it to a fictional other in my head.

It’s one of the reasons I thought I’d make a good educator.  I don’t have a classroom, or usually even anyone who would be remotely interested in a lot of the things I read to talk to about it, but I turn it into a lesson anyway.  I find that if I can do that then I can be sure I understand it myself.

