Small goals, big results

by Brian Keaney

Today we celebrated my grandfather’s 90th birthday.  Nine decades is quite an accomplishment, but I don’t think he or anyone else set out to actually live that long.  You live your life one day at a time, and before you know it 32,850 of them have gone by.

I thought of this as I went for a run the other night.  Even at 10:30 p.m. the air was thick with humidity, and I had to stop to walk a few times.  At least, I am blaming it on the humidity.  I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact that my fat ass hadn’t been out for a run in weeks and has barely been making it to the gym.

As I often will when running in difficult weather, I found myself setting small goals for myself.  Get to the top of this hill, and you can walk part of the way down.  Make it to the stop sign, and then you will be halfway to the next intersection.  Setting these small goals made it easier to complete the whole loop.  I wasn’t running a couple of miles then, I was just running to the next corner.  Breaking it into bite sized pieces made it easier to do.

I’ve neglected this website for some time (the most recent post on branding and ice cream was written for work and originally posted on the company blog), even though I have several half written posts on topics ranging from rainbows to 19th century economists.  I’ve decided that I will attempt to write more posts, but they will each be shorter.  Rather then pen 2,000 words on a topic, I will break it up into four 500 word pieces if need be.  This will pose a challenge as I’ve never been accused of being brief, but like when I set out for a run I think it is good to try and challenge myself.

Some day I’d like to write a book, run a marathon, and maybe even live to be 90.  None of those are realistic short term endeavorers, however.  You’ve got to crawl before you can walk, and walk before you can run, so I’m going to blog before I’m a Pulitzer prize winning historian.

